ORHC 2021 Scholarship Award Winners, News (Oakville Rangers Hockey Club)

News Article
News Article Image
Aug 15, 2021 | Cassy Goulart | 2899 views
ORHC 2021 Scholarship Award Winners
Applicant #1 - Alexander Del Monte REP
Applicant #3 -Connor Seymour HL
Applicant #4 - Miguel Serra HL
Applicant #7 - Evan Muller REP
Applicant #8 - Jakob Pedersen HL
Applicant #9 - Dylan Nogueira REP

Each season, the Oakville Rangers Hockey Club proudly awards two scholarships to selected players who have demonstrated a commitment to our community, academics, and athletics. Each $1,000 scholarship is aimed at assisting these high school graduates as they pursue their post-secondary education

The 2019/2020 season was unlike any other. Our Rangers family faced the stress of a global pandemic, difficult academic situations, constrained volunteer opportunities, and increased financial strain. Despite these trying circumstances, our graduating Oakville Rangers players stepped up and faced this adversity head-on. In fact, for the first time, we are delighted and proud to announce 6 Award winners!  Please read on to learn more about these exceptional recipients.

Please congratulate Alex Del Monte, recipient of the Oakville Rangers Scholarship Award. First stepping onto the ice when he was just five years old, Alex played for the ORHC for 12 fun-filled and rewarding seasons. Hockey continually challenged Alex in many ways. He learned what it took to work hard and the joy of meeting your goals. Alex helped win team championships, scoring titles, and worked hard to meet his objectives throughout both his House League and Rep years. He earned the Alternate Captain position in both House League and Rep teams. He also was awarded the Captain role, where he helped his team win two tournament championships. Alex graduated from St. Ignatius of Loyola Catholic Secondary School this year. While at school, he also balanced part-time jobs with volunteer opportunities, including a lifeguard for the Town of Oakville and coaching soccer for his previous elementary school. Alex's future plans include pursuing Business / Commerce studies at one of his chosen Universities.


The next scholarship award goes to Connor Seymour. Connor has played for the Oakville Rangers Hockey Club for the past 12 seasons. Hockey provided Connor with a feeling of community and family. He credits past coaches, including Ed Morano and Mark Fieldhouse, for providing Connor and his teammates with the feeling of belonging and joy of the game. He also witnessed his parent's sense of pride and excitement they derived from their volunteer efforts with the Rangers. Connor learned from these dedicated role models and volunteered both on and off the ice for younger teams – helping provide these younger players with the same sense of community and family he experienced. A graduate of Holy Trinity Catholic Secondary School, Connor plans to pursue Chemical Engineering in one of his chosen Universities this fall.




The next Oakville Rangers Scholarship Award is awarded to Miguel Serra. Miguel played with the Rangers for 12 seasons at many different levels and positions. As a new Canadian family, Miguel was the first in his family ever to experience the game of hockey. He has been both a player and goalie in both House League and Rep levels. Hockey has been an essential part of Miguel's life, and he has looked for ways to make it special for others. He lent his experience to younger players as a P3 Hockey Academy instructor for critically needed goalie training initiatives. He also helped make our goalie programming during Rangers Day a wonderful experience for everyone involved. Off the ice, Miguel volunteered to assist children with Autism Spectrum Disorder at the Joy of Learning Centre. Miguel credits his hockey-playing experience with helping him maintain both physical and mental health. He also credits hockey for helping give him great memories playing with great coaches and friends provides. Graduating from Garth Webb Secondary School, Miguel plans on pursuing his dream of acquiring his undergraduate degree in computer engineering.



The next award winner is Dylan Nogueira. Dylan has been playing as a goalie in House League for the past seven seasons. Hockey has helped strengthen Dylan in many ways, including confidence, communication skills, and problem-solving abilities. Dylan volunteered as a backup for many teams as a goalie – he even played for two different teams in the same season. He has volunteered for countless tournaments ad tryout-related activities to help ensure everyone has the chance to participate in the league.  Dylan also wrote a children's book where he donated the proceeds to a team charity and was a STEM Camp (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) counselor. Graduating from Iroquois Ridge High School, Dylan plans on pursuing a University education in Engineering this fall.



The recipient of the Oakville Rangers President’s award is given to Evan Muller. Over his 12 seasons, Evan has been a volunteer, player, coach, official, and timekeeper. Evan helped his teams reach the House League finals five seasons in a row – ending with being able to raise the cup finally! His goal was to become a Rep player, which he did at Minor Bantam and played Rep until his final season. Evan was also a referee – and was awarded the ORHC Top Junior Referee of the Year award in 2018/2019. Volunteerism is vital to Evan – who has given over 400 hours throughout high school – including over 100 with the Rangers and 160 with the Kerr Street Mission. Evan established the Fresh Food Project, designed for families to receive free produce bought at fair prices from local farmers, among his many volunteer accomplishments. A multisport athlete and multi-year honour roll recipient, Evan plans to remain part of the hockey community as he graduates from Oakville Trafalgar High School and sets his sights on Business at one of his chosen Universities this fall. 



Our next Oakville Rangers President’s Award recipient is Jakob Pedersen. Jakob has been an Oakville Ranger since the age of 6. He fell in love with hockey and has always given 100% to his team. He prides himself on never missing a single practice and giving maximum effort at all times. Playing in both House League and Rep, Jakob learned many life lessons from his time with the Rangers. Most notably was the capability he has to make a positive impact on his community. Through being a volunteer team leader at summer camps, helping underprivileged children afford to play hockey, and assisting Oakville senior citizens in his community during the Covid pandemic, Jakob learned life lessons he will not soon forget. Graduating from St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic Secondary School, Jakob plans to pursue Engineering at an Ontario University this Fall.





Oakville Rangers Hockey Club Scholarship and President's Award Winners

2020-21:             Alexander Del Monte, Connor Seymour, Miguel Serra, Dylan Nogueira.
President's Award:  Jakob Pedersen and Evan Muller.

2019-20:             Hayden Chan and Jonathan Policelli. President's Award: Nicholas Winslow

2018-19:             Anthony de Rango and Phillip Shahviri. President's Award: Joshua Newman

2017-18:             Christopher Elliott and Iain Headrick

2016-17:             Eli Hoy and Jaden Luik

2015-16:             D'Arcy Murphy and Braden MacGregor

2014-15:             Justin Menne and Brendan Clarke

2013-14:             Matthew Gwillam and Andrew Giles

2012-13:             Kamil Tkaczuk and David Zilkey

Strategy Corp
Orange Theory Fitness
Oakville Animal Clinic
Wilk & Wilk Orthodontics
Dodge Caravan Kids
Spotless Auto Detailing Center